Understanding The SSC CHSL Syllabus

This guide is designed to provide a thorough overview of the SSC CHSL syllabus and the exam structure for both Tier I and Tier 2, giving you all the essential resources and knowledge necessary for effective preparation. We aim to make sure you are fully equipped to approach the exam with confidence and achieve success.

What is SSC CHSL Exam?

The SSC CHSL, or Staff Selection Commission Combined Higher Secondary Level Exam, is a nationwide competitive examination held for students who have completed their Higher Secondary education. It aims to recruit eligible candidates into various governmental departments and offices.

The roles available through the SSC CHSL include positions like Lower Division Clerk (LDC), Junior Secretariat Assistant (JSA), Postal Assistant (PA), Sorting Assistant (SA), and Data Entry Operator (DEO). The selection process for these posts involves a series of tests, including a computer-based examination, a descriptive paper, and depending on the post, a skill test or typing test.

Conducted by the Staff Selection Commission, the CHSL exam is an annual event that opens doors for employment in multiple Ministries, Departments, and Organizations under the Government of India. It’s designed to fill critical administrative roles such as Posting Assistants/Sorting Assistants, Data Entry Operators, Lower Divisional Clerks, and Court Clerks, providing a significant opportunity for Higher Secondary pass-outs to enter the government sector.

SSC Exam NameSSC CHSL (Combined Higher Secondary Level Examination)
Exam Conducting AuthorityStaff Selection Commission (SSC)
SSC Eligibility CriteriaAge limit – 18 to 27 years.
Educational Qualification – 10+2 passed.
Application ModeApply Online through SSC Website
Application fee for SSC CHSL ExamRs 100 (UR/ OBC)
Stages of ExamCBT (online).
Pen and Paper test (offline).
Skill test
Exam DurationCBT: 60 minutes.
Pen and Paper test: 60 minutes.
Skill test/ Typing test: 15 minutes/ 10 minutes.

SSC CHSL Exam Tier 1 Syllabus

SSC CHSL Tier 1 Syllabus:
The syllabus for the SSC CHSL Tier 1 exam includes a wide variety of subjects, such as:
1. Quantitative Aptitude
2. General Awareness
3. General Intelligence
4. English

Notably, the exam format has been updated to be out of 160 marks, an increase from the previous 100 marks. Candidates aiming for the SSC GD Constable position should definitely go through the detailed syllabus to enhance their study plan. It’s also important for applicants to be aware that the Computer-Based Exam (CBE) needs to be completed in 60 minutes, and there’s a penalty of 0.25 marks for every incorrect answer.

Tier 1 SubjectsNo. of questionsMarks
Quantitative Aptitude2550
General Awareness2550
General Intelligence2550

SSC CHSL Exam Tier 2 Syllabus

The SSC CHSL Tier 2 examination is a significant step for candidates who have successfully cleared Tier 1. This stage tests the aspirants through descriptive type questions, focusing on their writing skills and ability to express their thoughts clearly and correctly. Below is an outline of the SSC CHSL Tier 2 exam pattern:

  • Type of Exam: Descriptive
  • Mode of Examination: Pen and Paper
  • Duration: 1 Hour (60 minutes)
  • Marks: Typically, this exam is conducted for a total of 100 marks.
  • Questions: Candidates are required to answer two descriptive type questions. These usually include essay writing and letter/application writing tasks.
  • Language: The examination can be attempted in either Hindi or English, according to the candidate’s preference.

This stage is crucial for evaluating the candidate’s proficiency in writing and their ability to articulate ideas in a coherent and structured manner, which is essential for various administrative roles offered through the SSC CHSL recruitment process.

SSC CHSL Eligibility

For those interested in participating in the SSC CHSL (Staff Selection Commission Combined Higher Secondary Level) exam in 2024, it’s important to meet specific eligibility criteria. Primarily, candidates must have completed their 10+2 level of education, making it accessible to a wide range of aspirants. Here’s a summary of the key eligibility requirements for the SSC CHSL exam:

  • Educational Qualification: Candidates must have passed the Class 12th examination or be awaiting their results at the time of applying.
  • Age Limit: The age criteria for applicants is set between 18 to 27 years. This age range is crucial for eligibility, and candidates must fall within this bracket.

SSC CHSL Pay Scale

The pay scale for positions offered through the SSC CHSL exam ranges from INR 19,900 to INR 81,100. This range indicates the broad spectrum of salaries that candidates can expect upon being selected for various posts such as Lower Division Clerk, Junior Secretariat Assistant, Postal Assistant, Sorting Assistant, and Data Entry Operator, among others. The specific pay scale for each position may vary, reflecting the level of responsibility and the nature of duties associated with each role.

Aiming for Top Rank in SSC CHSL Tier 1 Exam?

My Entrance provides premium online coaching for the SSC CHSL exam, ensuring you are thoroughly prepared to confidently tackle the different sections of the exam. Our course content includes the most anticipated questions and analyses of previous year’s SSC CHSL question papers, making our platform one of the best for SSC CHSL online preparation. We aim to equip you with all the tools you need for success.

Practice SSC CHSL Tier 1 Free Test Online

Begin your preparation for the SSC CHSL Tier 1 with our free online practice tests at My Entrance. These tests are designed to mimic the real exam environment, enabling you to refine your strategy and enhance your time management abilities long before the actual exam day.

Privacy Alert: Content Copying Restricted